cape side logo
north asia cape logo
cape sea logo


sea cape Southeast Asia
Centre of Asia-Pacific Excellence

southeast asia

Southeast Asia’s economic importance to New Zealand is growing, and as a block, the ASEAN countries are now New Zealand's fourth largest trading partner.

The 11 countries who are members of ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) Brunei, Myanmar, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam, as well as Timor-Leste, make up the culturally and ethnically diverse region of Southeast Asia, with hundreds of languages spoken by different ethnic groups. With a focus on strengthening engagement with the Southeast Asia region, the Southeast Asia Centre of Asia-Pacific Excellence (Southeast Asia CAPE) supports New Zealand businesses, exporters, educators, young people, government agencies and others to improve understanding of the ASEAN countries and build knowledge of their economies, languages, cultures and business protocols. Southeast Asia CAPE delivers a range of programmes and initiatives, including:


Workshops, internships, expert seminars and resources to develop business skills and capability to promote success in Southeast Asian markets. This includes our Market Readiness Programme (MRP) which introduces New Zealand’s entrepreneurs, founders and small business managers to the marketplaces of Southeast Asia

Immersive programmes and resources for students and educators from primary to tertiary level. For example, our Tertiary Market Immersion Programme (TMIP) provides an opportunity for business-savvy tertiary students from across New Zealand to engage with Southeast Asia and to broaden their understanding of doing business in the region

Southeast Asia CAPE news and events

Southeast Asia CAPE Hub

North Asia
North Asia
South Asia Cape
Southeast Asia
Latin Cape
Latin America

Resources to help you expand your knowledge of Southeast Asia