cape side logo
north asia cape logo
cape sea logo


What are the Centres of Asia-Pacific Excellence?

The North Asia, Southeast Asia, and Latin America Centres of Asia-Pacific Excellence (CAPEs) are committed to enhancing New Zealand’s economic engagement and cultural understanding with the Asia-Pacific region, and building New Zealanders’ understanding and ability to engage.

The CAPEs offer events, programmes, scholarships, internships, and other initiatives to support New Zealand’s businesses, schools, communities and students to understand the key countries of the Asia-Pacific region better. 

How do the CAPEs operate?

The Southeast Asia and Latin America CAPEs are hosted by Victoria University of Wellington. The North Asia CAPE is hosted by the University of Auckland. Together with the Universities of Waikato and the University of Otago, they deliver the service offerings of the three CAPEs.

The CAPEs Advisory Board offers guidance on the strategic direction and approach of the CAPEs, ensuring that our work is underpinned by a wealth of expertise and experience across national and international business, trade, education and cultures.

Meet the CAPEs Advisory Board

When were the CAPEs launched?

The North Asia CAPE, along with the Southeast Asia CAPE and Latin America CAPE, were formally launched at Parliament in April 2018 by Education Minister Hon Chris Hipkins.